Things I Love: Book Fairs

01.29.2012 at 11:54 AM 2 comments

I have always been a big fan of reading, ever since I was a young girl. I remember reading books like The Green Mile by Stephen King for pleasure while I was in high school. Unfortunately, when I went off to college, my desire to read beyond course readings and textbooks took a steady decline over my four years. As the intensity of the school work increased (senior thesis, anyone?) and the required reading became longer and more complex, I found myself frequently choosing a mindless television show over reading for fun. Since graduating, moving to Colorado, and discovering the local library district, my love of reading has reignited. I tend to visit the library about 3 or 4 times a month, picking up books (mostly nonfiction), audio books (good for my work commute), and magazines. Occasionally I will pick up a movie or two and I’ve recently discovered how to check out ebooks for my NOOK tablet. The library is one of the greatest free resources out there.

Although I use the services at the library regularly, I also enjoy building up my personal book collection. I try not to buy too many books unless 1) it is a book I checked out from the library, read, and really enjoyed or 2) they are super cheap. That’s why I love attending book fairs. Drew and I are both book fans, although my book collection is nothing compared to his. At the moment his two bookshelves are full and he has stacks of books just hanging out until we move and can afford a few larger bookshelves.

Yesterday the library branch that I frequent most often was holding a used book fair. All paperbacks were selling for $0.50 and all hardcovers for $1.00 – a very good deal! Combined, Drew and I picked up 26 paperbacks and 2 hardcover books for a total of $15.95 with tax. Out of curiosity, I went through and calculated how much all the books would have cost if we purchased them at their respective cover prices…and came up with a total of $245.56! What we ended up paying was a darn good deal if I do say so myself. Of the 28 books we got only 4 of them were for me (3 paperbacks and 1 hardcover). The gems I picked up were Jurassic Park by Michael Crichton, The Lost World by Michael Crichton, The Devil Wears Prada by Lauren Weisberger, and Citizen Girl by Emma McLaughlin & Nicola Kraus.

Now I have a few more books to read and apply towards my book goal for this year.

Entry filed under: Books. Tags: , .

National Peanut Butter Day Try, Try Again

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. bibliopirate  |  01.29.2012 at 12:54 PM

    Book fairs are the best!

    Reply
  • 2. Dani Shields  |  01.29.2012 at 1:34 PM

    I love it when the library puts on a book fair! You get so many good books at cheap prices 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


All content is © 2012 thelovelyspoon.wordpress.com

