Try, Try Again

02.05.2012 at 8:51 PM 1 comment

Over the past several years I have struggled with losing weight. I have lost anywhere from 10 to 50 lbs during various times in my teenage and adult life. Unfortunately, those losses never quite stuck.  I have lost weight, gained weight, lost it again…. You get the idea. For my first weight loss during high school, I simply ate less and moved more. Then college happened. What a weight-loss roller coaster! My biggest loss, 50 lbs, occurred during the summer before my junior year. I managed to lose all that weight in three months, only to return to college in the fall and gain back 20 lbs in one month. During that time I had developed a very unhealthy relationship with food.

From the end of college until now I have tried losing weight a few more times. I started paying more attention to calories and the concept of calories in vs. calories out. I started exercising regularly and tracking calories through sites like SparkPeople and MyFitnessPal. I found success in these two programs and managed to lose between 10 – 20 lbs at different times. However, I always managed to gain the weight back. I seem to have a “happy weight” that I continuously gravitate to and, although it puts me in the “normal” BMI range, I am not satisfied with my weight and my body. I know I need to work on my self-esteem and body image, but sometimes that is easier said than done. I am envious of women who have wonderful body confidence and wish to have the same self-love one day.

In the mean time, I’ve decided to try something different in terms of weight loss. At the beginning of February I joined Weight Watchers, after discussing it with one of my co-workers who started the program in January. I always told myself that I would never sign up for a pay-to-use program. I mean, why pay for something when programs like SparkPeople are free? I enjoy(ed) SparkPeople and the many services and features they have available, but sometimes you just need to try something new. So, with that, I am giving Weight Watchers a shot.

Wish me luck! 🙂

Entry filed under: Weight Loss. Tags: , .

Things I Love: Book Fairs Squeezing In More Cardio

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. She BANGS!  |  02.07.2012 at 7:56 AM

    I started Weight Watchers for the first time ever about a month ago – and I’ve lost 18 lbs so far (without starving). I was a little skeptical at first like you are but I too decided to give it a shot. So I wish you the best of luck – I hope the program works for you too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


All content is © 2012 thelovelyspoon.wordpress.com

