Squeezing In More Cardio

02.07.2012 at 3:02 PM Leave a comment

On my days off from work I like to try and schedule an extra cardio session at the gym. I’m usually over at Drew’s place on these days and therefore can utilize the gym located in his apartment complex’s clubhouse. It isn’t a very big gym – two elliptical machines, two treadmills, a few weight machines, and some free weights – but right now it works for me. I did have a membership at a local gym for over a year, but since starting my [current] job last August I had been utilizing the tiny gym at work for part of my lunch hour. When the new year started and I deiced to do the 90-day ChaLEAN Extreme program I stopped using the gym at work and actually spent my lunch hour eating a lunch rather than quickly devouring a greek yogurt + banana post-workout. Still, there are days when it feels nice to do a little extra exercise and take advantage of the cardio machines.

This morning I braced the falling snow (not as bad a last Friday) and walked over to the apartment gym. With two magazines (the February issues of Self and Shape – from the library), my iPod shuffle (I always bring it in case others are being loud in the gym), and a full water bottle I was ready for some workout action on the elliptical. Because most people are at work around 10am on a Tuesday the gym was, for the most part, all mine. 🙂

Here’s my gym workout for today:

Elliptical – 30 minutes – level 10 – random setting*

Elliptical – 15 minutes – level 6 – random setting

Treadmill – 15 minutes – 5.0 incline, 3.9 average speed

*the elliptical has different settings to choose from, such as manual, hill, and random (varying intensities)

I didn’t intend to walk for a bit on the treadmill, but I was in the middle of one of the magazines so I decided to finish it while I was there. I tend to reserve my magazine reading for the cardio machines, unless they are food/cooking magazines.

Overall, I am pretty pleased with my cardio for today. I want to get back into running, but I’m waiting for spring when the weather outside is much more favorable. I still have my ChaLEAN Extreme session to do (I’m on the second month – the PUSH series) later on today. I’ve been noticing a bit of a change, especially in my arms. Bring on the sexy muscle!

Entry filed under: Exercise. Tags: , , , .

Try, Try Again Love The One You’re With

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


All content is © 2012 thelovelyspoon.wordpress.com

